A LITTLE BIT OF history...

In the fall of 1902, Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, opened its doors to female students for the first time. Three fraternities existed on campus, but sororities were yet to exist. This motivated six young women to create a lifelong sisterhood, fostered by ideals that they cherished. On October 24, 1902, these inspiring women- Alfa Lloyd, Mary Collins, Anna Keen, Julia Bishop, Mabelle Minton, and Anne Simmons chose to name their newly created sorority, Delta Zeta. Delta Zeta has 170 collegiate chapters in the United States and Canada and over 200 alumnae chapters, with over 260,000 members. Our colors are Rose and Green, which come from our flower; the Killarney Rose. 

iota's history...

Delta Zeta was founded at the University of Iowa on May 20, 1913 here in Iowa City, Iowa. Being the Iota Chapter, we are the ninth chapter to be established. Delta Zeta Iota is located at 223 S Dodge Street. 

Delta Zeta House - May 1913

Delta Zeta House - August 2018

© 2017 by DZ. All rights reserved.

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now